On this page you will find information about our School Drivers and our curriculum for Early Years Foundation Stage and Key Stage One. 

These are the key drivers which underpin our curriculum and are evident in everything we do. They are known to us as VELCRO

British Values

British Fundamental Values | The Training Brokers

At Fetcham Village Infant School we promote British values through the teaching of:

democracy, the rules of law, individual liberty and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs.

British values are taught at Fetcham Village Infant School through collective worship, our strong school ethos and the respect and tolerance we teach for all faiths through our values-based curriculum. Through the curriculum we teach respect for civil and criminal law, respect for public institutions, services and other people, respect for democracy and an understanding of how citizens can influence decision making through the democratic process.

Through SMSC (Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural development) we develop self-knowledge, self-esteem and self-confidence through:

  • PSHE curriculum
  • Social group for children who need extra support
  • Celebration Assemblies
  • Interventions

Distinguish understanding of right from wrong and respect the civil and criminal law of England by:

  • Talking about people who help us, police
  • Anti-Bullying and Racial Incident log
  • Learning about Parliament in history e.g. Guy Fawkes


Encourage children to accept responsibility for their behaviour and contribute positively to society through:

  • Values 
  • Classroom rewards, positive praise, whole class rewards, celebration assembly, head teacher awards, green and red card system
  • All adults demonstrate values through words and deeds and act as positive role models for the children
  • All adults provide continuous constructive feedback on individual and group behaviours in accordance with our Behaviour Policy
  • Visits to Church through the curriculum

Teach tolerance and harmony between different cultural traditions through respect for own and other cultures:

  • Explore through our topics
  • Enrichment activities e.g. Chinese New Year Dance and Drama workshop
  • Around the World Day
  • Celebrating cultures within our community

Respect for other people and democracy by:

  • Voting for peers to stand for councils e.g. Pupil Parliament and Eco Council
  • Debating and hot seating 
  • Visiting speakers e.g. St Marys Church and parents who speak about different religions and their customs

Our Core Values

Values- Our core Values are Friendship, Trust, Co-operation, Courage, Caring, Responsibility, Happiness, Respect, Honesty, Tolerance and Love. These Values underpin everything that we do. 

Environment- We use the environment to learn from as well as work hard to care for it 

Learning to Learn- We focus on developing key learning skills with the children

Community- We believe in fostering very strong links with the community

Risk-taking- Children learn in a safe environment which encourages them to feel able to take risks in their learning

Opportunities- We make the most of learning opportunities that have not necessarily been planned for




We aim to give all children in our Foundation Stage an exciting, challenging and meaningful start to their learning journey with us. We plan children's learning experiences in accordance with the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum guidance and principles. The children have many opportunities for free play, choosing their learning activities and resources as well as participating in adult led tasks in small groups. We are lucky enough to have extensive school grounds which include a wooded area. This is accessible in all weathers and is used for 'woodland' school where the children learn through investigative play. For the Statutory Framework for Early Years Foundation Stage 1st September 2021 please click here. When planning the early years foundation stage curriculum our practitioners use Development Matters Non-statutory curriculum guidance for the early years foundation stage First published September 2020 Revised July 2021. Please click here to view this document.


The National Curriculum for all subjects sets out the progression of skills, knowledge and understanding from 5-16 in four distinct key stages: one (5-7 years), two (7-11 years), three (11-14) and four (14-16 years). Key stage one describes the curriculum for 5-7 year olds and consists of three core subjects. All children study the core and foundation subjects, together with Religious Education and Personal, Social and Health and Economic education.

Detailed information on all of the subjects can be found in our school prospectus which can be read here.